Cookie comes from the Dutch word “koekje” which means little cake.  Dutch bakers used to test oven temperatures for their cakes with small amounts of batter to they wouldn’t waste the entire cake mix if the temperature wasn’t right.  Soon people realized these little test cakes made for quite the dessert on their own!

This Holiday marks a special day in my Food Holiday-ing.  This day last year a friend told texted me Happy National Cookie Day after she had a cookie exchange party at work.  This made me feel like it was necessary to go out and celebrate by eating a cookie!  It also prompted me to search the internet and print out my first list of food holidays.  It was fun to look at, but who knew this was the beginning of endless searching and compiling making an all inclusive list of National Holidays related to food.  As well as my inevitable decision to celebrate everyone of them.  What a year it’s been!

I wound up pulling an all nighter last night (This morning).  As I was getting ready for bed at 4:00Am I thought it would be easier to stay up longer and get to the bakery when it opens at 6 Am instead of risking sleeping the day away and not getting the cookies I wanted.  So I stayed up an hour longer and drove over to Anna’s Bakery for some delicious and fresh assorted cookies.  As I was driving home the sun was beginning to rise.  I pulled over by the river and opened my cookies.  They made the perfect snack for a beautiful sun rise!

 

Cookies come in all different flavors, shapes, and sizes. To celebrate National Cookie Day, bake a few batches of your favorite kind and invite your friends over for a cookie swap!

