I went to the seafood store today and asked for an Oyster.  They said “I hope you’re pulling our leg.”  But I wasn’t, I just wanted to try one oyster.  They said we’re not selling you one oyster!  So I got two, and they still were in disbelief that I would come in asking for such a small amount.  I complained it was illegal to refuse me a sale! (not in a preachy self righteous was, but in a playful just let me buy these oysters way.)  Then they said I hope your not planning to pay with credit.  And I said “actually all I have is my debit card, i dont have cash.  And they were still in disbelief shouting phrases, like show me where the cameras are.  Although its also illegal to refuse my card for the purchase, I put down my oysters and at least did the the favor of getting some cash from the ATM.

…Oysters are a marine dwelling bivalve mollusk.  They have been consumed as far back as Ancient Roman times. They have been both peasant fare as well as a meal for the wealthy upper class.  They’re even considered to be an aphrodisiac.  In American food culture, Oysters were a popular street food, even up until the late 19th century.  They were consumed so frequently they were almost extinct due to over fishing.  Oysters are said to have a delightful taste, making them one of the most popular seafood items.  A fine oyster is rare because the flavor changes depending on the waters the grow up in.  Oysters are a nutritionally well balanced food.  They are high in protein, carbohydrates, and lipids.  They’re low in cholesterol, and a great source of vitamins and minerals.

Folklore tells that you should only consume Oysters in months with “R”s in them.  Even though you can probably enjoy them all year round.

