I don’t normally post the international holidays, but since I had so much confusion with Waffle Day i figure I would do this one (not to mention I love waffles).  I figured since I did a National chain for a good American waffle, I would get an imported waffle for International Waffle Day.  My first thought was the Waffle and Dinges truck in NYC.  They have amazing Belgian waffles, and if you have never tried them I recommend you do immediately.  The best topping is there spekuloos spread, its like creamy graham crackers. http://www.waflesanddinges.com . But then I remembered a friend of mine near by imports German groceries.  I called her up and she had these delicious waffles from Germany in stock.  I’ve never had such a delicious simple packaged waffle.  If you want to order from her the website is, http://www.Germangrocery.com .

International Waffle Day originated in Sweden under the name Våffeldagen. The holiday coincides with the Feast of the Annunciation (9 months before Christmas when The Virgin Mary  was visited by the angel Gabriel).  Vaffeldagen comes from the holiday Vårfrudagen which means Our Wives Day which comes from the word Vår Fru which means Virgin Mary.   The feast commemorates the Annunciation as well as the beginning of springtime! Families begin to start their spring chores, and it became a custom for Swedish families to celebrate the two events by making waffles on this day as well.  Also, Farms were changed and rents were due on this day, and it used to be the First day of the Year of the old Julian calender.

