I love waffles!!  So it has come to my attention National Waffle Day has a lot of confusion around it.  People have celebrations posted for March 24, 25, 26.  In fact National Waffle Day is August 24th.  Which I read too quickly and assumed it was March 24th because that is when all these posts were. And International Waffle Day is tomorrow.   For my Waffle Day celebration I drove an hour and half to Scranton, PA so I could have dinner at the nearest Waffle House to me- a great American breakfast institution, and perhaps my favorite waffles around!   So much celebrating I did, only to find out I was 5 months early.  I’m still keeping my post here, and I’ll re-post it in August.

National Waffle Day is the anniversary of the first U.S. patent for a waffle iron. Cornelius Swarthout of Troy, New York received his patent for a “device to bake waffles” in 1869. His early waffle iron was used in conjunction with coal stoves, consisted of a griddle and a cover and required flipping of the device to cook both sides of the waffle.

Waffles go back to the 13th century when Ancient Greeks cooked flat cakes between two metal plates.  This was a savory version of the waffle called obleios, served with cheese and herbs.  Immigrants brought wafles to America from The Dutch, and the spelling waffle is purely an American spelling for the food.


 

